Aug 16, 2012

Summer Beat the Heat, Later Hours at Candy Babel!

In an effort to be more sustainable with my air conditioner usage, and as the heat seems to keep shoppers home till early evening, this weekend Candy Babel is trying out some new hours! Come visit and show your support if your into the later hours!

Aug 9, 2012

Back to Knowledge! - What is Gelatin? an Ingredient Blog

This months blog is dedicated to education.
As you may not be ready for school to be back in we will make these "ingredient blogs" brief and fun.

Today's ingredients commonly found in candy is Gelatin!

Gelatin (or gelatine) is a translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), flavorless solid substance, derived from the collagen (hide). It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceuticals, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. Substances containing gelatin or functioning in a similar way are called gelatinous. Gelatin is an irreversibly hydrolysed form of collagen, and is classified as a foodstuff. It is found in some gummy candies as well as other products such as marshmallows, gelatin dessert, and some ice cream and yogurt. Household gelatin comes in the form of sheets, granules, or powder.
Gelatin is made from  tissues and bone bi products, and not cow hooves or finger nails as I hear many parents tell there kids, also there are pig free gelatin's in Kosher candies.

Here is a great video to show you how we make Gelatin step by step.

Oral gelatin consumption has been claimed to have beneficial therapeutic effect on hair loss in both men and women.. In addition there are scientific publications that present evidences that consumption of oral gelatin has beneficial effect for some fingernail changes and diseases.

Several Russian researchers offer the following opinion regarding certain peptides found in gelatin: "gelatin peptides reinforce resistance of the stomach mucous tunic to ethanol and stress action, decreasing the ulcer area by twice."
Gelatin has also been claimed to promote general joint health. A study at Ball State University sponsored by Nabisco, the former parent company of Knox gelatin found that gelatin supplementation relieved knee joint pain and stiffness in athletes.

Safety concerns- (not vegan)
Strict regulations apply for all steps in the gelatin manufacturing process. Gelatin is produced from natural raw materials which originate from animals that have been examined and accepted for human consumption by veterinary authorities. Hygienic regulations with respect to fresh raw materials are ensured and each batch of raw material delivered to the manufacturing plant is immediately checked and documented.